Sliced up

See, it’s because the thin layer in focus.

Creating a big depth of field and only a narrow slice of focused area is pretty challenging. Especially when the waves can reach your camera any second. After using older shots, here’s a relatively recent picture and its story from the end of April ’16.

During my BA I traveled quite a lot around Turkey. Even had time for some of the neighboring countries (Georgia, Armenia, Iran). But this time my MA was more about actual studying. Still, as the end of the semester loomed closer, we allowed ourselves a tiny break and decided to move to the Mediterranean for a long weekend. Destination: Kabak. Means pumpkin in Turkish. One of those hidden gems on the West coast of the country: 10 hours bus ride from Ankara to Fethiye, another hour with dolmuş (minibus) to a tiny village on top of a huge elevated area. Kabak can be reached after descending to a valley on foot for like 30 minutes. It’s remote. A quasi hippie community lives there, with little equipment and accessibility to the “modern world”, so most bungalows are pretty basic. Also, cool.

So I got roasted by the sun during the day, and as the vile star was sinking behind a cliff (the temperature dropped by a staggering 15 ˚C under 30 minutes), it was finally time to take a couple of photos.

I have almost no light. The tidal waves reflect the last beams of the sun. I want to capture the wave as it moves towards me, but landscape mode does not seem relevant here. As I lay on my stomach, I tilt the camera to portrait mode, and hold it extremely close to the gravel, almost exposing my camera to the salty sea. I get in macro mode to only have that super narrow slice of foamy wave reaching towards the lens. This way, the slice is in focus, but the endless sea and darkening sky both contribute to a more monumental perspective.

Well, that’s about it. Kabak served as a perfect subject — I’ll keep the blog updated with the most recent photos in the coming weeks.

3 thoughts on “Sliced up

  1. Pingback: Kabak ridge | Analog anecdotes

  2. Pingback: Stretch | Analog anecdotes

  3. Pingback: Roll on | Analog anecdotes

Leave a Reply

