Crossing

1004.jpg

This picture is all about the symmetry. Or the lack, thereof.

I never liked the Liberty Bridge in Budapest. It’s not like it’s not pretty; on the contrary. I never liked it as a construction. Perhaps it’s  because of my vertigo: whenever I have to cross a bridge, I do it quickly and with not looking anywhere but towards the other side. So, my deficiency led me to the point where I forgot about Liberty Bridge. It was just another landmark in the heart of the capital. You see it as part of the big picture, but not as an independent figure.

This was all ruined last summer.

Look, normally I’m a member of the large majority of Budapesters who are sick and tired of renovations and constructions taking forever. But when they had decided to close down Liberty Bridge  – from the traffic – something changed. Pedestrians – us, the large majority – were still allowed to enter. A generally congested pair of roads were miraculously wiped clean of cars and trams, and suddenly people started to occupy it – and to transform it. Please, do google articles about the phenomenon – from beer-pong contests (no pictures of that, but here, this will give you an idea) to yoga classes, people tried (and did) everything on the bridge during the summer months.

But I’m here to tell my story, and this prologue has already devoured too much space.

We had a nice beer or two on the Pest side with a German friend of mine and decided to part ways on the Buda side. I recommended crossing the bridge – seceretly I hoped I could take a photo that cannot be taken every day.

It turns out it was my lucky day. It took agonizingly long to get the bridge in frame: I wanted a near-perfect horizontal symmetry with only Hotel Gellért somewhat ruining the balance in the background. The shutter obediently clicked and I thought I finally had a perfectly orchestrated image.

Then I spotted the couple crossing from the left: perhaps with having them more in the foreground could have been nicer, but alas… And then the cyclist’s shoulder, too. Either way, to understand the picture a little more, here is a “how it was made” edition:

I guess that’s it for today. Thanks for checking in, tune in for the next post as well!

Main photo: 8th frame of an Ilford 125 BW, 11 1/250

Leave a Reply

